Hi everyone! I would like to thank Jeff D for his excellent donation. It will keep tzg.com up and running for about 4 months! If you feel so inclined, please feel free to click on that donation link to help keep the lights on. Much appreciated!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
painting miniatures.
12-30-2008, 02:32 AM
painting miniatures.
im completely new to miniature war games and next month im getting one called warlands but i have NOOOO idea how to paint miniatures, what tools i may need, and paint. i was wondering if you guys have any tips, know what i need to buy, or know a website that could teach a child how to paint cuz im kinda retarded.

thanks for your help guy.... just wanted to get some practice in before i get the game. although i am a painter i pretty sure im gunna royally f things up.. please help me!!!

when life hands you zombies, rev up your chainsaw.
[IMG]http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g269/pluguglie/PlugUglie.png[/IMG]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-30-2008, 07:04 AM
RE: painting miniatures.
The best part of painting is you can always cover your mistakes just don't use too much paint or it will fill in the detail.
First things first you need to know what a wash is and a drybrush is.
Wash or ink is basically a very thin paint. What it does is flows into the low spots of a miniature creating a shadow effect. The wash is applied after the main color is painted on and it will be a slightly darker shade or if you want a really shadowy figure use black but make it really thin.
Drybrush is when you take a big (in terms of miniatures) brush dip it into a lighter version of the base color then wipe it on a paper towel until most of the paint is gone. It usually takes 4 or 5 swipes. Then you dust it over the base color. The paint will only go onto the high spots and will create a light effect. When used in conjunction with each other you can get a professional look.