TheZombieGame.com Forums

Full Version: I think i'm thinning my paint too much
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm new at painting. Never painted before until now because I love the look of everyone else's painted minis. Got some paints from a Hobby Lobby with some different size brushes.
Well, I'm starting to paint the Zombies first for the practice then work my way to the Heroes. I find that painting these minis are taking me an absurdly long time. Somewhere around a couple hours a mini.
I have read numerous techniques online and read that it relies a lot on wash. But in order to do that, I have to thin the paint considerably to where it takes a lot of time putting on a coat, letting it dry, then repeat until it's dark enough.
Is there an easier way of doing this? Maybe i'm doing it wrong? I'm hesitant to only lightly thin the paint because of having to strip them if I get it wrong.
The first zombie come out really nice in the end but is there any advice to help speed things up a bit? They don't have to be perfect but not look like, well.. a first time painter's job haha.
Well...to be honest...paiting minis does take alot of time. To spend hours on one figure doesn't strike me as odd Watchmen02
What brand and type of paint do you use?

Washes a generaly aplied after you have put on your base colors.

As for speeding things up...when I work on mass production painting I try to combine my colors so I van paint many figs at once. For instance i did all the flesh on my heroes in one go. Same for the zeds.

Hope this helps...and if not...I'm sure our inhouse paintingguru will show up pretty soon and help you with some excellent advice. I think he can smell those painters in trouble!
Yeah, it takes me about that long as well.

Emp's idea is solid, especially when you're trying to get a bunch painted.