TheZombieGame.com Forums

Full Version: Tips and advices for a complete beginner.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello zombie fellas,
since I got LNoE and spoke a lot about tabletop with one of my friends, I am more and more interested in painting miniatures.
I now decided to give it a try but before to start I need some equipment. I watched 'samuraitrevs' videos which help a lot. To buy no crap I would go with brushes and paint from GW.
But now there is the question which and how many colors you need to start. Can you give me tips and/or correct my shopping list for brushes and paint?

- Black & white undercoat

BASE (11):
- Mephiston Red
- Khorne Red
- Kantor Blue
- Caledor Sky
- Caliban Green
- Death World Forest
- Zandri Dust
- Ratskin Flesh
- Xv-88
- Mechanicus Standard Grey
- Abaddon Black

SHADE (8):
- Casandora Yellow
- Drakenhof Nightschade
- Biel-tan Green
- Athonian Camoshade
- Seraphim Sepia
- Reikland Fleshshade
- Agrax Earthshade
- Nuln Oil

LAYER (12):
- Flash Gitz Yellow
- Fire Dragon Bright
- Wild Rider Red
- Genestealer Purple
- Warpfiend Grey
- oeth Blue
- Lothern Blue
- Moot Green
- Screaming Skull
- Ungor Flesh
- Skrag Brown
- Administratum Grey

BRUSHES (4):
- fine detailbrush
- standardbrush
- small drybrush
- medium drybrush
I'm sure you'll get a million opinions, so here is mine... Watchmen02 I'm going to start with the brushes, personally I would skip the med dry brush and stick with just the small dry brush. Maybe double up on the standard brush. I have mostly sable brushes, and I use hair gel after I was them to reshape them, dab some on your finger and work it in then get the excess out while you shape. It's like a new brush every time.
Your base selection looks very solid, I would add averland sunset to your selection though.
Shades add Carroburgh Crimson.