Hi everyone! I would like to thank Jeff D for his excellent donation. It will keep tzg.com up and running for about 4 months! If you feel so inclined, please feel free to click on that donation link to help keep the lights on. Much appreciated!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Painting Tips
06-05-2015, 10:06 PM (This post was last modified: 06-05-2015 10:09 PM by jeffd1830.)
Painting Tips
ImtheTimelord requested painting tip from me in this thread: http://www.thezombiegame.com/forums/Thre...NoE-Heroes

So, I decided to make a new thread specifically for painting tips:

TIP #1: USE GOOD PAINTS & PRIMER

You should invest in some moderately good paints. While you can use Apple Barrel or cheap artists acrylics from a craft store, the consistency of the paint is so much better if you go with a quality paint. I started painting my D&D miniatures with cheap paints before I moved to doing LNoE minis. Cheap paints tend to clump and leave streaks, and will obscure some detail.

So what am I using?

I purchased this exact set:

http://www.amazon.com/Vallejo-Basic-Colo...B009162PWU

They are worth every penny. I utilized EVERY color in this set in the process of painting my LNoE minis. Purple was the rarest color, which I used only on Jade. Even with this many colors, I still had to do quite a few mixes to achieve the desired results (i.e., zombie flesh made by one drop of black, one drop of white, one drop of green... I'm not sure if that's my exact formula, but you get the idea.)

Vallejo paints are convenient because they come in dropper bottles so you can easily dispense a drop onto your palette without having to clean a brush and dip into a paint pot.

They are also already pretty thin. I never added water to Vallejo paints (other than to extend the life of the last bit as it's starting to get dry), except to do wash coats. When I was using cheaper artist paints, I was constantly having to thin them down with varying results.